World Series of Poker

World Series of Poker 2020

The World Series of Poker faces a major challenge in 2020 due to the COVID-19 ‘caronavirus’ which has brought the world to a standstill and has closed land based casinos and poker rooms for many months.  Circumstances have forced Caesars Entertainment, owner of WSOP brand, to announce that all events including the $10,000 main event played at the Rio casino in Las Vegas will be postponed until further notice, but with a hope that certain events can be resumed in Fall of 2020, although no details are available.

With most players in lockdown and unable to visit any casinos, this has created a massive boom in online poker activity and huge interest in the online WSOP circuit events which are being offered by online poker sites. Historically WSOP circuit events were played at land based casinos around the United States as a lead up to the Las Vegas World Series events.

The WSOP Main Event

The main event of the WSOP is a $10,000 buy-in no-limit Texas Holdem tournament, first played at Binions Horseshoe casino in Las Vegas downtown, with Johnny Moss winning the inaugural event in 1970.  The event is now played at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino owned by Caesars Entertainment.  WSOP main event winners receive a platinum & diamond bracelet along with the largest cash prize in tournament poker.

World Series of Poker Champions 1970 to 2019

YearWSOP Main Event ChampPrize WonEntriesWSOP LifetimeBracelets Won
1970Johnny Moss$07$824,9229
1971Johnny Moss$30,0006$824,9229
1972Thomas Preston$80,0008$436,0554
1973Walter Pearson$130,00013$245,7404
1974Johnny Moss$160,00016$824,9229
1975Brian Roberts$210,00021$266,6502
1976Doyle Brunson$220,00022$2,808,94510
1977Doyle Brunson$340,00034$2,808,94510
1978Bobby Baldwin$210,00042$604,9004
1979Hal Fowler$270,00054$270,0001
1980Stu Ungar$385,00073$2,078,8385
1981Stu Ungar$375,00075$2,078,8385
1982Jack Straus$520,000104$555,0002
1983Tom McEvoy$540,000108$1,291,0314
1984Jack Keller$660,000132$2,048,7633
1985Bill Smith$700,000140$788,0001
1986Berry Johnston$570,000141$2,265,5235
1987Johnny Chan$625,000152$4,397,74910
1988Johnny Chan$700,000167$4,397,74910
1989Phil Hellmuth$755,000178$14,612,21315
1990Mansour Matloubi$895,000194$6,019,6301
1991Brad Daugherty$1,000,000215$1,165,1701
1992Hamid Dastmalchi$1,000,000201$1,642,4633
1993Jim Bechtel$1,000,000220$1,944,6232
1994Russ Hamilton$1,000,000268$1,261,9401
1995Dan Harrington$1,000,000273$3,491,5132
1996Huck Seed$1,000,000295$2,426,8424
1997Stu Ungar$1,000,000312$2,078,8385
1998Scotty Nguyen$1,000,000350$5,895,7325
1999Noel Furlong$1,000,000393$1,070,7851
2000Chris Ferguson$1,500,000512$5,033,5936
2001Carlos Mortensen$1,500,000613$3,168,2162
2002Robert Varkonyi$2,000,000631$2,110,2121
2003Chris Moneymaker$2,500,000839$2,532,0411
2004Greg Raymer$5,000,0002,576$6,669,4171
2005Joe Hachem$7,500,0005,619$8,261,8591
2006Jamie Gold$12,000,0008,773$12,067,2921
2007Jerry Yang$8,250,0006,358$8,280,9131
2008Peter Eastgate$9,152,4166,844$9,430,5061
2009Joe Cada$8,574,6496,494$10,339,4484
2010Jonathan Duhamel$8,944,1387,319$14,612,2133
2011Pius Heinz$8,715,6386,865$8,821,0561
2012Greg Merson$8,531,8536,598$10,174,0292
2013Ryan Riess$8,359,5316,352$8,920,6721
2014Martin Jacobson$10,000,0006,683$12,102,2321
2015Joe McKeehen$7,683,3466,420$10,480,8612
2016Qui Nguyen$8,005,3106,737$8,022,2871
2017Scott Blumstein$8,150,0007,221$8,155,2271
2018John Cynn$8,800,0007,874$9,513,0711
2019Hossein Ensan$10,000,0008,569$10,233,9731


WSOP Circuit Events

Harrahs owned casinos run a series of low buyin poker tournaments, known as WSOP circuit events. The winner of each circuit event main event wins a WSOP main event seat. So far the circuit events have enjoyed moderate success, often due to direct competition from the more successful World Poker Tour or European Poker Tour events held at the same times.

WSOP Europe

Harrahs first announced the introduction of the WSOP-Europe in 2007. Click here for more about the WSOP Europe.