World Series of Poker

World Series of Poker 2008


Player Name Year
Joe Cada 2009
Peter Eastgate 2008
Jerry Yang 2007
Jamie Gold 2006
Joseph Hachem 2005
Greg Raymer 2004
Chris Moneymaker 2003

The WSOP or World Series of Poker is the most popular set of poker tournaments in the world. It is held annually in Las Vegas, had a record number of players in 2007 and it lasts just over a month.

The WSOP is the most popular because of the status of the poker players that attend and the prize money involved, there are alot of high profile poker players such as Johnny Chan and Phil Hellmuth.

The original World Series of Poker started in 1968 by Tom Moore at the Holiday Hotel and Casino in Reno and was an invite only event.

The Main Event

The main event of the WSOP is a $10,000 buy-in no-limit Texas Holdem tournament.

WSOP main event winners receive a platinum & diamond bracelet along with the largest cash prize in tournament poker. When Binions ran the tournament, champions pictures graced the ‘Gallery of Champions’ at Binions Horseshoe Casino, but Joe Hachem was the last winner to be granted that honor in 2005, as it appears the tradition has now ceased.

The 2008 main event begins on May 28 and will finish on July 17.

The 2008 WSOP

The 2008 World Series of Poker commences at the Rio Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas in June – Click here for details.

WSOP Circuit Events

Harrahs owned casinos run a series of low buyin poker tournaments, known as WSOP circuit events. The winner of each circuit event main event wins a WSOP main event seat. So far the circuit events have enjoyed moderate success, often due to direct competition from the more successful World Poker Tour or European Poker Tour events held at the same times.

WSOP Europe

Harrahs have announced the introduction of the WSOP-Europe in 2007. Click here for more about the WSOP Europe.

Scroll to top