European Poker Tour

Gavin Griffin won season 3 of the EPT

Gavin Griffin, Season 3
European Poker Tour Champion

The European Poker Tour is sponsored exclusively by PokerStars, the world’s largest online poker site.

After starting in 2004, with seven Texas Hold’em No Limit poker tournaments broadcast on television across Europe, the EPT has grown to become Europe’s richest and most popular poker tournament series. The tour now rivals the top events in America and attracts some of the biggest poker names from across the world.

The EPT’s star has risen in unison with the rapidly increasing popularity of poker as a game. The first ever event in Barcelona was €1,000 to enter, had 211 players and a total prize pool of just €229,000. By comparison, the EPT Season 3 Grand Final had a buy-in of €10,000, and attracted 706 players, creating a prize pool of €6,600,000. This made it the richest poker tournament ever held outside of Las Vegas.

Season 3 of the EPT also saw sell-out €5,000 tournaments in Barcelona, London, Copenhagen, Dortmund and Warsaw.

The Grand Final

The main event of the European Poker Tour is a €10,000 buy-in no-limit Texas Holdem tournament, held every year in Monte Carlo. The winner of this event is crowned as the EPT Champion.

In 2007, the first prize of €1.85m ($2.4m) was won by PokerStars qualifier and WSOP bracelet winner, Gavin Griffin, from the USA.

Qualify for an EPT Event

PokerStars runs regular online poker satelite tournaments for all EPT events. Qualifiers will receive money for travel and accomodation, a seat in the EPT tournament, and PokerStars apparel to sport at the tables.

Season 3 champion, Gavin Griffin won his seat online at PokerStars!