Aussie Millions

The Crown Australian Poker Championship, or “Aussie Millions” is the biggest poker tournament in the Southern Hemisphere. The tournament is staged annually at the Crown Casino complex in Melbourne, Australia. Crown Casino is the largest casino and poker room in Australia.

The Crown has announced that it expects a first prize value of $2.5 million for the Aussie Millions 2010 ‘Main Event’ which is the highest first prize ever in the history of the Aussie Millions tournament. With an estimated 2,500 individual entrants set to participate in the 2010 Aussie Millions, it looks like this years tournament will be record breaking for Melbourne.


Poker at Crown was first introduced in June 1997 with the first major championship, then known as the Australasian Poker Championship, held shortly after in July 1998. The main event was a $1,000 buy-in Limit Holdem tournament that attracted 74 entries with a $74,000 prize pool.

The Crown Australian Poker Championship or the “Aussie Millions” as it has become known moved to January in 2001, attracting 40 entrants with a $5,000 buy in for a prize pool of $200,000. Since then it has continued to grow as more and more Australians have been attracted to the game of Poker and particularly Texas Hold’em. January 2003 saw the event go truly international, attracting a field of 122 entrants and a $1.2m prize pool.

In January 2005, the “Aussie Millions” reached new heights, with a record 263 participants paying $10,000 each to enter the No Limit Hold’em main event, generating the biggest prizepool ever in the Southern Hemisphere of $2,630,000. Over half the field was from overseas including players from New Zealand, England, Ireland, Norway, Denmark, USA, Sweden, Holland, Canada, Italy and Lebanon.